Petrol Pumps to Shut on Every Sunday from May 14th in Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra, Kerala

Petrol Pumps to shut on every Sunday from May 14th in Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra, Kerala

In the states of Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Maharashtra, the petrol pump dealers in association with the states have decided to shut down the petrol pumps on every Sunday from 14th May 2017.

The decision has been taken by keeping in mind the vision of reduction in fuel consumption by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

A D Sathyanarayan, President, Consortium of India Petroleum Dealers said “In line with the Prime Minister’s appeal to reduce fuel consumption the CIPD has decided to request its members to declare Sunday as holiday from 14 May 2017.”

President of All India Petroleum Dealer’s Association, Ajay Bansal stated that with the shut of petrol pumps on Sundays there would be no impact on the countywide. This shut is valid only in few states not all over the country. He further said, “This will create panic. The association that has called for such a move has presence in only Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Maharashtra. We are not supporting this decision, while we also have the same demands to increase.”

A Media report says that the petrol pump owners earlier threatened to shut the petrol pumps on Sunday, as they demanded higher commission. Petrol Pump owners are expected to make 10th May as “No Purchase Day” by doing a protest.

The decision of shutting the on every Saturday is not in lieu of higher commission demand. Also, government by now has taken no step regarding owner’s demand on higher commission. In the month of January state-run oil firms assured higher dealer commission to petrol-pumps when they were on strike.